Movie Review: Remember Me

Remember MeThis movie was weird and I do not really think it had a plot. Honestly, I am not entirely sure how I feel about it.

I am not much of a Robert Pattinson fan. I do not think he can act in any way other than the way he did in Twilight. Although that spacey, dramatic thing sort of worked for that role, I felt it was annoying in this one. I felt like I was watching Edward in a movie named Tyler instead of a different character.

Tyler, in general, did not really spark any emotions from me. I found him to be creepy and dirty rather than romantic or misunderstood. I feel like so many parts of his past that made him into who he was were not very well explained, so the gaps made it hard for me to follow and understand his character. I got that he was lost and upset, but I do not know… I just did not really get it.

I did love the little sister, Caroline! She was absolutely adorable and I understood her character completely. She was definitely misunderstood and in a weird position having lost her oldest brother, having an estranged father, and just being different than her classmates. The scene where she goes to the birthday party was heartbreaking, but I will say that Tyler’s relationship with her was incredibly sweet and endearing.

The movie took a strange turn at the end. VERY UNEXPECTED ENDING that did not make much sense. It was so sudden (which might have been the point), but I do not know. I felt something was missing. So much left unexplained.

In the beginning, I thought the movie was going to be about the girl, Ally, but then once it got going it seemed to be all about him. Then I thought it was going to be about both of them, but it just jumped around a lot with nothing super concrete. It was dark and dramatic, but I did not get the romantic feel. I felt all of it was very rushed.

Not entirely bad, just not what I was expecting. I would not necessarily recommend that you see it, because I was not wowed by it in the least, but I guess it gets you thinking. Maybe I was just not the right audience.

Thoughts?